Under 21 ?

Tobacco Retailer
Underage Sales
Training

The tools you need
{E to follow state and

F@] g federal tobacco laws




You are not required to make a tobacco
sale if there is any question that doing
so would violate the law!

Tobacco

and Health

In the United States...

* Tobacco use kills approximately 480,000 people
each year (CDC 2017).

* 13.7% of adults 18 years and older smoke
cigarettes (CDC 2018).

In Kentucky...

* Kentucky ranks #2 in the U.S. for adult smoking
(23.4%) (CDC Behavioral Risk Factor Survey 2018).

° 26.1% of Kentucky youth use e-cigarettes regularly
(CDC Youth Risk Behavior Survey 2019).

° 12.3% of Kentucky youth usually get their own
vapor products by buying them in a store (CDC
Youth Risk Behavior Survey 2019).

* 7.9% of Kentucky youth use smokeless tobacco
regularly (CDC Youth Risk Behavior Survey 2019).

* 8,900 Kentucky adults die each year from smoking
(Campaign for Tobacco Free Kids “The Toll of
Tobacco In Kentucky” 2019).

Economic Burden of Tobacco Use in
Kentucky...

* $1.92 billion yearly health care costs directly
attributable to smoking (CDC's Smoking
Attributable Mortality, Morbidity and Economic
Costs 2017).

* $1,074 per household state and federal tax burden
from smoking-related government expenses (CDC's
Smoking Attributable Mortality, Morbidity and
Economic Costs 2017).

FREE
Online Training

Online Training...

Take online training on Federal and Kentucky tobacco
laws! Free TRUST covers the laws, penalties, how to
verify ID and how to refuse a sale.

After passing the final quiz, you can print your
certificate to keep on file.

The training link is on Alcoholic Beverage Control’s
website:

http://abc.ky.gov/newstatic_Info.aspx?static
ID=265&menuid=86

Scroll down to Tobacco Retailer Underage Sales
Training and click on “Begin Training”


http://abc.ky.gov/newstatic_Info.aspx?static_ID=265&menuid=86
http://abc.ky.gov/newstatic_Info.aspx?static_ID=265&menuid=86

Federal
Violations

Fines
and Penalties

FDA Tobacco Retail Inspection Process
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Violations” website
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to the warning letter
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v

Stores having two or
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monetary penalty complaint
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Request an extension
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Contest the allegations and
request a hearing

Kentucky Penalties...

Selling tobacco products to anyone under the
age of 21:

* Clerks may be fined $100 for first offense
* $500-$1,000 for the second offense

Stores where employees have not signed a
statement that they understand Kentucky
tobacco laws:

*  Owners may be fined $100-$500

For Federal tobacco violations, the
store owner is fined, not the clerk!

Federal Penalties...

First violation for any Federal Law:
Warning letter to the retailer

Second violation within a 12-month period
owner is fined: $285

Third violation within a 24-month period owner
is fined: $570

Fourth violation within a 24-month period owner
is fined: $2,282

Fifth violation within a 36-month period owner is
fined: $5,705

Sixth or subsequent violation within a 48-month
period owner is fined:

$11,410 as determined by the Secretary

on a case by case basis.




Federal and State

Tobacco Laws

FEDERAL AND STATE TOBACCO LAWS  Kentucky Federal

It is illegal to sell tobacco products to anyone
under the age of 21

Clerks must ask for identification of anyone
purchasing tobacco who appears under 27

FEDERAL AND STATE TOBACCO LAWS

It is illegal for tobacco companies to sponsor
sporting and entertainment events using an
identifiable logo

Kentucky 'Federal

Any person who sells tobacco products shall
require proof of age

Each employee of the retail establishment
must sign a statement saying that they
understand Kentucky tobacco laws

Itis illegal to sell cigarettes in packs of less
than twenty

Clerk is fined for selling tobacco products to
anyone under the age of 21

Any retail establishment that sells tobacco
products must post a sign saying it is illegal to
sell tobacco products to minors

Store owner is fined for violating Federal
tobacco laws

Tobacco billboard advertisements must be
500 square feet from the property line of a
school

Iu

It is illegal to sell “alternative nicotine
products” and “vapor products” which
include electronic cigarettes, vape pens,
disposable e-cigarettes and similar products
to anyone under the age of 21

Sale or purchase of tobacco products
dispensed from vending machines prohibited
to anyone under 21

Tobacco vending machines only allowed in
adult-only facilities

Itis illegal to sell flavored nicotine (other than
tobacco or menthol flavors) in reusable, pod-
based e-cigarettes. (Disposable and refillable
e-cigarettes are exempt from this law.)

Vending machines must be in sight of the
cashier

All tobacco related advertisements and
packages, including retailer created, must
contain a health warning label

Any person selling “alternative nicotine
products” and “vapor products” shall require
proof of age

It is illegal to sell flavored cigarettes (except
menthol)

Retailers that mix and prepare e-liquids or
create or modify vaporizers will be regulated
as both retailers and manufacturers.

It is illegal to manufacture cigarettes and
loose tobacco with labels that read “light”
“mild” or “low tar” (Retailers may sell existing
inventory)

It is illegal to give away free cigarettes

Itis illegal to sell t-shirts or any other clothing
or accessories that have cigarette logos

st

tobacco retailer underage
sales training

http://abc.ky.gov/newstatic_Info.aspx?static

ID=265&menuid=86

Scroll down to Tobacco Retailer Underage Sales
Training and click on “Begin Training”


http://abc.ky.gov/newstatic_Info.aspx?static_ID=265&menuid=86
http://abc.ky.gov/newstatic_Info.aspx?static_ID=265&menuid=86

Kentucky IDs

Kentucky is changing its driver's license to make
them compliant with federal ID standards. The new
license will be available statewide by October 1, 2020.
However, they will be available in some counties
before then. The old licenses may be used for ID
purposes after October 2020 until their expiration
date (except in airports).

Minor ID
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Quick ID Checklist...

Card anyone who appears under 27
Have customer remove ID from wallet
Look at photo

Look at expiration date

Look at the date of birth

Check for DUPLICATE or REPLACEMENT. Ask
for a second ID.

Compare out of state IDs to an ID Checking
Guide

Use a black light to check for UV writing

Does ID seem to be intact? Are there signs of
tampering?

Look at the back and check for disclaimers.

When in doubt, ask for a second form of ID.

How to Refuse a Sale...

Be polite
Don’t get emotional or angry

Say “I'm sorry, if | make this sale, | could be fined
or even lose my job.”

If customer persists, ask your manager for backup.

Remember! Under Kentucky law, if you make a
sale to a minor, you are the one fined!



Tips
for Managers

° Create a written training policy. The FDA
recommends all employees be trained at least
once per year. Managers should keep training
records for four (4) years.

* Create a written policy covering Federal
laws and regulations of cigarettes and
smokeless tobacco.

* The FDA recommends all employees that sell
tobacco be at least 18 years of age.

* Post signs indicating that your store does not
sell tobacco to underage youth.

* Post a copy of pertinent tobacco laws at
each point of sale.

* If self-serve tobacco products are available,
separate tobacco products from items
youth find appealing, like candy.

° Employee performance evaluations should
take compliance checks into account. Any
employee who fails a compliance check should
be given additional training.

* If customers complain about your tobacco
policy, explain that Kentucky law prohibits
the sale of tobacco to anyone under the
age of 21 and that federal law requires clerks
to ask for identification of anyone who appears
under the age of 27.

° Develop protocols for when to call store
managers to deal with uncooperative
customers. Have a protocol for employees to
follow when refusing a sale and the manager
is not present.

Additional
Resources

FDA Resources...

FDA Guidance for Tobacco Retailers

https://www.fda.gov/tobacco-products/about-center-
tobacco-products-ctp/ensuring-compliance-tobacco-
control-act-and-enforcing-law#3

Retailer Education Materials

http:/www.fda.gov/TobaccoProducts/

GuidanceComplianceRequlatorylnformation/Retail/
ucm237741.htm

S.T.A.R. Training...

If you live in @ community or have a job that
requires Responsible Beverage Server training,
information on Kentucky and Federal tobacco laws
are included in S.TA.R. training.

For more information, see the Alcoholic Beverage
Control’s S.T.A.R. Training website:

https://txn.esslearning.com/catalogs/kabc/1.1.0/

More Information...

If you want face-to-face training or if you would
like more information about TRUST, please contact:

Steve Cambron

Synar Program Coordinator

Department for Behavioral Health, Developmental
and Intellectual Disabilities

(502) 782-6153
Steve.Cambron@ky.gov


https://www.fda.gov/tobacco-products/about-center-tobacco-products-ctp/ensuring-compliance-tobacco-c
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https://www.fda.gov/tobacco-products/about-center-tobacco-products-ctp/ensuring-compliance-tobacco-c
http://www.fda.gov/TobaccoProducts/GuidanceComplianceRegulatoryInformation/Retail/ucm237741.htm
http://www.fda.gov/TobaccoProducts/GuidanceComplianceRegulatoryInformation/Retail/ucm237741.htm
http://www.fda.gov/TobaccoProducts/GuidanceComplianceRegulatoryInformation/Retail/ucm237741.htm
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KENTUCKY

Substance Abuse Prevention Program
Department for Behavioral Health
Developmental and Intellectual Disabilities
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